Focus

So, this morning I got up at 6:30, took my shower, fed my lamb, and started my devotions. When I finished, I started thinking about the schoolwork I need to get done today. I realized that I needed to focus a lot more, if I hoped to get it done.

The truth is, to focus is probably the hardest thing for me to do. I’ll sit somewhere, doing just about anything, and my mind is somewhere else.  I’ll sit there doing latin, and my mind will be off, having an epic battle somewhere against overwhelming odds, or maybe thinking about some philosophical discussion that I can’t seem to grasp—and then I realize it’s getting late, and I need to focus, focus, focus.

Now, I’m not sure if focus is something everyone struggles with, or just me. I just thought it is interesting how suddenly one can be whisked away into some adventure or thought process, that is completely alien to the task at hand. Focus is something that is very important to our Christian walks. The bible has much to say on what we focus or set our minds upon. Romans 8:5-8 covers this in a broad sense. It says, “Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace; the sinful mind is hostile to God. It does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. Those controlled by the sinful nature cannot please God.” Clearly, I must learn to focus on the tasks that God places before me.

So thank you for bearing with me in my short dissertation on focus. It wasn’t very focused was it? 🙂

About Renegade4Christ

I am a strong supporter of limited government and the voice of the people in government. I am also a believer in Christ Jesus as the way, truth, and life, and I know that you can experience his love as well, if you are willing to place your trust in Him!
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment